Series of articles

The organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries,opecThe OPEC for shortness, is an international non-governmental organization (INGO). Its members are the States, which economics depend from income of oil export essentially.

The establishing of the OPEC was given rise to striving of petroleum exporting countries to coordinate efforts on prevention of the fall in the oil prices in the world. A cause for the establishing of the OPEC was impact of the "Seven Sisters", a world cartel, joined the companies: "British Petroleum", "Chevron", "Exxon", "Gulf, "Mobil", "Royal Dutch Shell", "Texaco". These companies, had control over refining of crude oil and distribution of the oil products all over the world, kept purchasing prices for oil down unilaterally, on the basis of which they paid income taxes and royalty (rental payment) to oil countries. There was the oversupply of oil on the market in the world in 1960-th, and the original target for establishing of the OPEC was an agreed limitation of oil production for stabilization of prices.

The OPEC, as permanently functioning organization, was being established at the Baghdad Conference on September 10-14 of 1960. Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Venezuela, an initiator of the OPEC foundation, were in the organization initially. To these five countries, founders of the OPEC, nine more countries joined that organization at the later stage: Qatar (1961), Indonesia (1962-2008, but withdrew the OPEC on November 1-st of 2008), Libya (1962), the United Arab Emirate (1967), Algeria (1969), Nigeria (1971), Ecuador (1973-1992, 2007), Gabon (1975-1994), Angola (2007).

At the present day, the OPEC consists of eleven members, with a glance with due account for changes of 2007, affiliation of a new member, Angola, and Ecuador returns to the ranks.

The headquarters of the OPEC was located initially to Geneva, Switzerland, after was moved to Vienna on September 1 of 1965.

The purpose of the OPEC is the coordination of an activity and formulation of the common policy with reference to oil production between participating countries, fixing of the stable oil prices, providing consumers with the stable oil supplies, to get a return on investments at oil industry.

Ministers of Energy and Oil of the OPEC member-countries hold meetings twice a year for assessment of the oil global market and forecast of market`s development for the future. The decisions on actions, that are necessary to take for stabilization of the market, are adopted within these meetings. The decisions on the volume of the crude oil production are adopted in accordance with a shift in demands on the market in OPEC conference.

The members of the OPEC control about two thirds of the world oil reserves. They account for 40 per cents of the global oil production or a half of the world export. A peak of the oil production hasn`t yet gone through by OPEC and the Russian Federation.

Whereas Russia is the largest oil-exporting country, unaligned the OPEC, this brings up the question about Russia`s joining the organization. However, experts say about the divergence in the strategic interests of the OPEC and the Russian Federation, to which is more profitable to stay an independent active force in the global oil market. Meanwhile, Russia stated its readiness to become a permanent observer in this cartel in 2008.

Large incomes, earned by the OPEC members from oil export, are taken an ambivalent effect on them. On the one part, many of them succeed in the raising of living standards, on the other part, "Petrodollars" can become a force, that slackened an economic development.

There is no one country, even the richest of oil, that has become considerably developed and modern among the OPEC members. Three Arabic States: Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Kuwait can be named as rich, but not developed countries. There is an indicator of their comparative backwardness, if for no other reason than, down to date in all three countries are kept the monarchical regimes of the feudal system. Libya, Venezuela and Iran are at the same low level of the prosperity, as Russia. Two another countries: Iraq and Nigeria, must be taken as no mere pour, but very pour.

By the data of http://www.wikipedia.org

The articles on the website are based on the information from the open Russian and foreign Mass Media, including printed publications and Internet editions.

статьи по теме

ОРГАНИЗАЦИЯ СТРАН-ЭКСПОРТЕРОВ НЕФТИ

Организация стран-экспортеров нефти, сокращенно opec– ОПЕК, (англ. OPEC, The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries) – международная межправительственная организация. Ее членами являются страны, чья экономика во многом зависит от доходов от экспорта нефти.

Создание ОПЕК было вызвано стремлением стран – экспортеров нефти скоординировать усилия по предотвращению снижения мировых цен на нефть. Поводом для образования ОПЕК послужили действия "Семи сестер" – мирового картеля, объединявшего компании "Бритиш петролеум", "Шеврон", "Эксон", "Галф", "Мобил", "Ройал датч шелл" и "Тексако". Эти фирмы, контролировавшие переработку сырой нефти и продажу нефтепродуктов во всем мире, в одностороннем порядке снижали закупочные цены на нефть, исходя из которых они выплачивали подоходные налоги и роялти (арендную плату) за право разработки природных ресурсов нефтедобывающим странам. В 1960-х на мировых рынках существовало избыточное предложение нефти, и первоначально целью создания ОПЕК являлось согласованное ограничение нефтедобычи для стабилизации цен.

ОПЕК как постоянно действующая организация была создана на конференции в Багдаде 10–14 сентября 1960. Первоначально в состав организации вошли Иран, Ирак, Кувейт, Саудовская Аравия и Венесуэла (инициатор создания). К этим пяти странам, основавшим организацию, позднее присоединились еще девять: Катар (1961), Индонезия (1962–2008, 1 ноября 2008 г. вышла из состава ОПЕК), Ливия (1962), Объединенные Арабские Эмираты (1967), Алжир (1969), Нигерия (1971), Эквадор (1973–1992, 2007), Габон (1975–1994), Ангола (2007).

В настоящее время в ОПЕК входит 11 членов, с учетом изменений состава, произошедших в 2007 г.: появления нового члена организации – Анголы и возвращения Эквадора.

Штаб-квартира ОПЕК первоначально находилась в Женеве (Швейцария), затем 1 сентября 1965 переместилась в Вену (Австрия).

Целью ОПЕК является координация деятельности и выработка общей политики в отношении добычи нефти среди стран участников организации, поддержания стабильных цен на нефть, обеспечения стабильных поставок нефти потребителям, получения отдачи от инвестиций в нефтяную отрасль.

Министры энергетики и нефти государств членов ОПЕК дважды в год проводят встречи для оценки международного рынка нефти и прогноза его развития на будущее. На этих встречах принимаются решения о действиях, которые необходимо предпринять для стабилизации рынка. Решения об изменениях объема добычи нефти в соответствии с изменением спроса на рынке принимаются на конференциях ОПЕК.

Страны члены ОПЕК контролируют около 2/3 мировых запасов нефти. На их долю приходится 40 % от всемирной добычи или половина мирового экспорта нефти. Пик нефти еще не пройден только странами ОПЕК и Россией (из крупных экспортеров).

Поскольку Россия является крупнейшей нефтеэкспортирующей страной, не входящей в ОПЕК, периодически обсуждается вопрос о вхождении нашей страны в эту организацию. Однако эксперты указывают на расхождение стратегических интересов ОПЕК и России, которой выгоднее оставаться самостоятельно действующей силой на рынке нефти. При этом в 2008 году Россия заявила о готовности стать постоянным наблюдателем в картеле.

Высокие доходы, полученные странами ОПЕК от нефтеэкспорта, оказывают на них двойственное влияние. С одной стороны, многим из них удается повысить уровень жизни своих граждан. С другой стороны, "нефтедоллары" могут становиться фактором, замедляющим экономическое развитие.

Среди стран ОПЕК, даже самых богатых нефтью, нет ни одной, которой бы удалось стать достаточно развитой и современной. Три арабские страны – Саудовскую Аравию, ОАЭ и Кувейт – можно назвать богатыми, но нельзя назвать развитыми. Показателем их относительной отсталости служит хотя бы тот факт, что во всех трех до сих пор сохраняются монархические режимы феодального типа. Ливия, Венесуэла и Иран находятся примерно на том же невысоком уровне зажиточности, что и Россия. Еще две страны, Ирак и Нигерию, следует считать по мировым стандартам не просто бедными, а очень бедными.

 

В статье использован материал с ru.wikipedia.org.

В подготовке материалов, представленных на сайте, использована информация, свободно распространяемая в открытых источниках российских и зарубежных СМИ, включая печатные издания и материалы ГИС Интернет.