Return of Okinawa

Japan continues to assert their rights to Okinawa Island. It seems that their hopes will come true. At least, they are trying in every possible way to facilitate this. This, of course, is not a complete liberation from the bonds of the "ally", but another step towards independence. On December 22, 2016, about four thousand hectares of Okinawa's land occupied by US military facilities was transferred to Japan. In the future, the US will continue the policy of returning land to the Japanese authorities used to deploy military bases. Currently, Okinawa is the main military bridgehead of the United States in East Asia. 74% of all US military installations in Japan occupy the fifth part of the island. There are 25,800 US servicemen and 19,000 members of their families and civilians in Okinawa. This figure will be reduced to 70% after the transfer of part of the training ground.

Perhaps such a reduction in the number of American military personnel will have a positive impact on the reduction of crime in Okinawa.

Waves of protest have repeatedly rolled out against the deployment of US bases in Japan, primarily related to the annual increase in the delinquency of American servicemen. According to the administration of the Okinawa Prefecture, 23 incidents involving the US military for the period from 1972 to 2010. The US military committed more than 5.8 thousand crimes on Okinawa Island after it's transferring to the sovereignty of Japan in 1972. But practically none of the criminal was convicted. American servicemen who commit crimes fall under the terms of the 1960 agreement, under the jurisdiction of US law. Thus, most of offenses and crimes committed by US servicemen remains unpunished. If the crime was committed while on duty or on the territory of the base, the agreement on the status of troops of 1960 provides the personnel and civil servants of US military bases with immunity from criminal prosecution by the Japanese authorities.

The Japanese authorities are already tired of expressing outrage and regret over the growth of crime, as the US every time vainly promise to strengthen discipline and prevent new offenses.

After the murder of a woman in the summer of 2016, the governments of the two countries began to coordinate the status of employees of US military bases, who are granted immunity from criminal prosecution of the Japanese authorities. As a result, the parties came to an agreement that civilian personnel hired from among the local population (like the person who committed the crime described above) cannot use the privileges provided by the agreement on the status of troops.

In addition, the Japanese authorities decided to form a special interdepartmental unit, which will deal with the prevention of criminal activities by American servicemen stationed at US military bases in Japan.

Perhaps, the measures taken will bring the desired result, and the level of crime at US bases in Japan will be reduced. Although all the measures taken before this did not have the desired effect.

Комментарии для сайта Cackle

Возвращение Окинавы

Японцы продолжают отстаивать свои права на остров Окинава. Похоже, что их надеждам суждено сбыться. По крайней мере, они всячески пытаются этому способствовать. Это конечно, далеко не полное освобождение от уз надоевшего «союзника», но, по крайней мере, очередной шаг к независимости. Так, 22 декабря 2016 года на острове Окинава, Японии было передано около четырех тысяч гектаров земли, занятой американскими военными объектами. В будущем США продолжат политику возврата властям Японии земель, использующихся для размещения военных баз. В настоящее время Окинава является основным военным плацдармом США в восточной Азии. Здесь находятся 74% всех американских военных объектов в Японии, занимающих пятую часть острова. На Окинаве находятся 25,8 тысячи американских военнослужащих и 19 тысяч членов их семей и гражданских лиц. После передачи части тренировочного полигона этот показатель сократиться до 70%.

Возможно, такое сокращение численности американских военнослужащих положительно скажется на сокращении преступности на Окинаве.

По Японии неоднократно прокатывались волны протеста против размещения американских баз, связанных, прежде всего с ежегодным ростом правонарушений американских военнослужащих. Так, по данным префектуры Окинавы, за период с 1972 по 2010 годы ежемесячно происходило 23 инцидента с участием американских военных, из них 13 уголовных. Американские военные совершили более 5,8 тысячи преступлений на островах Окинава после передачи их под суверенитет Японии в 1972 году. Причем 571 инцидент с участием американцев в этой префектуре попадает под определение «тяжких преступлений». Но едва ли кто-то из преступников был судим. Американские военнослужащие, совершившие преступления попадают, согласно соглашению от 1960 года, под юрисдикцию американского законодательства. Таким образом, безнаказанным остается большинство правонарушений и преступлений, совершенных американскими военнослужащими. Если преступление было совершено во время дежурства или на территории базы, соглашение «О статусе войск» 1960 года предоставляет личному составу и гражданским служащим американских военных баз иммунитет от уголовного преследования со стороны властей Японии.

Японские власти уже устали выражать возмущение и сожаление по поводу роста преступности, так как США каждый раз тщетно обещают укрепить дисциплину в войсках и предотвратить новые правонарушения.

После убийства женщины летом 2016 года правительства двух стран начали согласовывать статус сотрудников американских военных баз, которым предоставляется иммунитет от уголовного преследования японских властей. В итоге стороны пришли к соглашению, что гражданский персонал, нанятый из числа местного населения (как и человек, совершивший описанное преступление) не будет пользоваться привилегиями, которые обеспечены соглашением «О статусе войск».

Кроме того, японские власти решили сформировать особое межведомственное подразделение, которое будет заниматься предотвращением криминальных действий со стороны американских служащих, размещающихся на военных базах США на территории Японии.

Возможно, принятые меры принесут желаемый результат, и уровень преступность на базах ВС США в Японии снизит свой рост. Хотя все принимаемые до этого меры не оказали должного эффекта.